I sat some adult courses, fun ones

Hehe… I’m 50. I sat some adult courses, fun ones and sat a number of medical terminology, Billing and even nutrition science classes. Guess what? I work in computers for APPLE. Only Part time, but it’s augmenting my SSI bennies for legal blindness from premature birth.

I was wondering if it couldn’t happen in 2 years instead of 1 just to make things a little better on you….

9 credits isn’t that bad then. Not sure of the credit per class is, but I’m in So cal and university lingo is funky here sometimes

Thanks for the feedback. Isn’t it true that it is often the only “activity” we can afford. My husband and I used to joke that the reason why all of our kids were born in late may and early june is because ” that” is the only thing we could afford to do during the summer months. Its a cheap option on the short run but it sure backfires on the long run.

I can only afford to take one class per semester at this point because more then that would require a bus pass ($100 a month) and babysitting (I don’t even want to know how much that would cost).

1 class in generally 3 credits (sometimes 6). So I have 3 semesters to go.

What I would have loved to do is a masters degee (1 year full time or 2 years part time) but at my age, I’m not sure its wise.

Might as well get some cash flowing that that the family needs are peaking.

I understand the need I as a child was in such a situation. We applied all of the above situations. The only thing I saw that my mother done was she put my younger sibling in the bath together. We were older 8 and 9 but we saved a lot on the water bill, bc before we were taking a bath in the rain. (that is no joke) I wish you the best and applaud you. God Bless your family. Were are you located?

Have you checked with the school yet? Sometimes they have babysitting services as well as financial aid and grants. Check into some programs. You might be surprised at what you can get for help when you have kidlets at home.

I’m thinking you’re not decrepit, so anything at the age of 42 is do-able. It isn’t the age, it’s the finances, dang them all! You stop this age stuff. I’m bloody fifty, I walk almost everywhere because I can’t drive and I love swimming and manage a house and yard with keeping it clean and trimmed (I do my own yardwork, pruning trees, painting the exterior, most regular house maintenance and so on) and still took classes for the heckovit.

You are, presumably a “healthy” soul? I’m 22 years insulin dependent diabetic, and although not a triathlon candidate, I try out anything. Age isn’t a deal breaker.

I guess you got to hear about the 93 year old lady who finally got to her dream of graduating high school? “Grandma Moses”…The artist, did not even get her first painting into the public eye until she was 82.

You rock the house, lady! IMO with five kids (!) you are NOT some lame oul’ woman…. LOL!!

Yeah *I* call them ‘Units” but they are indeed ‘credits’. It must be hard, being so close, but you have to live too. another year is not going to hurt you at all. If you want that Master’s in 2 years, you GO girl! How old are the kidlets?

Here’s a serious reply, although the humorous one had me chuckling a bit!

What I’m doing is:

  1. Cut cable, meaning no cable TV, we’re using rabbit ear antenna or the girls are watching the approx. 50 movies we already have!
  2. I keep my central air conditioning thermostat at 78 to 80 F in the summer. In the winter I keep my heat set to 67, 66 for some reason is toooo chilly.
  3. I cook enough to last right about three meals. I use my crockpot a lot as well.
  4. I grocery shop at Aldi, Save a Lot is very similar but I’m a big Aldi fan. And even when I do shop I don’t buy the fruit snacks, etc. I make homemade granola bars, bake late at night in the summer either cakes or muffins.
  5. I shop Salvation Army stores or garage sales for all of my clothing and look for various things my daughters need. We also have friends, relatives that clean out their closets regularly and bring the bags to my house. We go through and take what will fit one of them that they like then donate the rest to charity.
  6. I carpool to work with a woman that lives only 3 blocks from me. We take turns every other day. I also bring my lunch to work and sometimes just work through my lunch. I never turn down overtime if I can go in early or work thru lunch.
  7. I’m lucky to have a 14 yr old daughter than can babysit for me during the day. Her treat for doing this is a few extra overnights at her friends’ houses on the weekends.
  8. During the summer time we have an open pass to my cousin’s swimming pool. We eat as soon as I get home from work and head up to their house, a whole 5 mins by driving and consolidate errands on the way there, if I have to go to get gas, then the Dollar General (and I always use coupons at Dollar General).
  9. If you haven’t already done so check into food stamps, some kind of public assistance. I had food stamps for awhile but my last raise at work knocked me out of my bracket. Should have just said no thanks to the raise huh?
  10. There are also food pantries you can go to at local churches.
  11. My last suggestion is budget billing for utilities.